It’s not about the destination, it’s about getting there!

I love travelling. I don’t know whether it’s the anticipation, the fact I can sit back and do nothing or just the opportunity that could be around the corner, but from long train journeys to taking someone else to the airport, I love it.

Right now I’m on a train to Munich. I am more excited about being on the train than being in Munich. Not that I don’t like Munich but it’s the journey that’s most exciting.

Wherever we go I’m always looking forward to the next journey – if we stay in one place for a long time that’s different – then I can’t be bothered to do anything. But if we are moving around, I thrive off the energy of the next trip.

I’m not the biggest fan of flying or driving myself; but even they’re exciting when they are a holiday or a roadtrip. And it’s not a roadtrip without snacks and music; there’s nothing more boring than a quiet roadtrip.

I’m not excited at all though by the idea of driving an hour to go shopping or to visit a park for the day. That’s just a bit of a chore and not something I look forward to, I’d much rather get the train.

On reflection why is it that I like travelling more than actually being there? I’m not sure, but I think it says something about me. I’m always looking forward, which means sometimes I forget to live in the moment and just enjoy being there for a while.

If you liked this, you might like ‘Switzerland is in Europe!’…. P.S. I’m posting this on eat back from Munich – roaming charges are expensive! So here’s some photos from my travels.

20121006-220931.jpg

20121006-221103.jpg

Leave a Reply

