The Edge of Reason Part Deux

How far will you go to face your fears? Yesterday, my sister put that into perspective for me.

You might remember The Edge of Reason; well yesterday was the big jump day. My sister, who’s so scared of heights that she doesn’t like glass lifts, jumped off a 300 ft crane attached to a bungee rope, to raise money for charity.

Our six year old niece has cystic fibrosis (CF for short). It’s a life-limiting illness and money raised goes into gene-therapy research for a cure for this hidden disease.

So my sister uses the fact she has no life-limiting illness to push herself to her life-limits.

I asked her on Friday night what she was really scared of. She said she didn’t know, just of being up high, but she was terrified.

I’d read something earlier in the week in Paulo Coelho’s ‘Like the Flowing River’; which I’d also read to someone else close to me. I read it to my sister, she probably thought that I was crazy, but it really does put it all into perspective and is especially poignant when it comes to CF.

He says in a short reflection called ‘Living Your Own Legend’:

It would be foolish to be frightened by death, because all of us, sooner or later, are going to die. And only those who accept this fact are prepared for life.

I’ll just leave you with that thought.

You might like The Edge of Reason. If you liked this post you can follow me by email or via WordPress and click ‘like’!

My sister’s jump fundraising site – she raised over £1000!!

And a few memories of a special day …

20120916-191454.jpg

20120916-191521.jpg

20120916-191543.jpg

2 responses to “The Edge of Reason Part Deux

  1. Pingback: About self-doubt | lifeinzuri·

  2. Pingback: Not getting what I want is the best thing that ever happened to me | lifeinzuri·

Leave a Reply

