The Edge of Reason

My sister – who is petrified of heights – in three months will throw herself off a big crane.

No, she’s not trying to end it all, she’s raising money for the Cystic Fibrosis Trust. She will be attached to a bungee by the way.

A few years ago she threw herself out of a plane (that time attached to a parachute and a nice looking man).

So, this is the second time she has faced this fear. Why, you might ask, would someone who is really that scared of something push themselves beyond their limits? What’s underneath it all? Is she really scared of heights at all or does she just think she is?

I asked her and she sent me a list of reasons. I’m not going to try to shorten or edit what she said, I’m just going to copy it in. But it answered my question.

It also took a post idea I’d had about doing something crazy to another level; to the reality of the situation we face as a family and the strength, determination and love for we have for each other.

To the realisation of how I feel when I look at my life so seriously and inwardly; when others don’t have the time to dwell.

To remembering that our story made us who we are. And it’s that story that gives my sister the determination to face her deepest fears; that gave me the focus to try and fail (twice) to run a marathon and that gives our niece, Ruby, the personality to live her life as if there will always be a tomorrow.

Cystic Fibrosis is part of our lives, as other illnesses and difficulties are part of others’ lives. This gives me two hopes in life. One is that we can find a cure for CF and the other is that I find the courage to live my life in the same way.


To jump or not to jump

1.) Will power – determination is the key! Once I commit myself to something…that’s it.

2.) Risk – although, I’m sure I’ll be fine!! I just have this thing where I like a bit of risk in my life… even if it’s out of my comfort. I feel that the crazier/riskier I go the more sponsorship comes with it.

3.) Raising the bar – when I first starting my fundraising for CF I set the bar high with the skydive, too high really! (Not including the 5k run we all did as that was more of a group effort!) …and I plan to keep raising it! It’s no good doing a skydive, bungee and then going back to a bike ride..I think that people want to sponsor you for things that aren’t every day. It adds a bit of edge and excitement! Especially if they already have this expectation of me now!

4.) Personal Achievement – The sense of personal achievement after doing something that you would never consider or even attempt ordinarily, is great. My skydive was one of the worst….but best days of my life at the same time!

5.) And last but not certainly not least – RUBY … She gives me the drive, motivation and ability to face my fears because at the end of the day, it’s all really for her, and other children/families affected by CF. I believe that one day there will be a cure and I want to keep up the fundraising and be a part of a worthwhile cause.

What next… a loooong trek.. or up a mountain…or maybe swim with sharks??!!! – If I can, I will. 😉

You can find out more about CF at
Cystic Fibrosis Trust (UK)
European Cystic Fibrosis Society (EU)
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation (US)

20120624-172338.jpg

8 responses to “The Edge of Reason

  1. Hi, I think you’re doing a really great thing! Living with an illness is harder than anyone will ever admit! Support of your friends and family is essential if you want a good quality of life! I really hope they find a cure for CF! Thank you for the follow! When light is dim, the spark of hope can guide the way! Keep writing!

  2. Pingback: A walk on the wild side | lifeinzuri·

  3. Pingback: Sisters | lifeinzuri·

  4. Pingback: The Edge of Reason Part Deux | lifeinzuri·

  5. Pingback: One year on – My Swissiversary | lifeinzuri·

  6. Pingback: Not getting what I want is the best thing that ever happened to me | lifeinzuri·

Leave a Reply

